Join our forum Subscribe to mailing lists
Join a chatroom Join a meeting
Browse the site by category

Renewable energy is government’s top priority – Vanterpool

Minister for Communications and Works, Honourable Mark Vanterpool met with the BVIEC Board members on Thursday December 29 at Maria’s By the Sea. (Photo Credit/GIS Natasha Lettsome)

Minister of Communications and Works Mark Vanterpool said renewable energy is the number one priority for his government and has called on the BVI Electricity Corporation (BVIEC) to support this agenda.

Vanterpool made those remarks when he met with BVIEC board members yesterday to extend his support and to provide guidance on critical electricity issues facing the Territory, according to a Government Information Service (GIS) press release.

Vanterpool was especially interested in alternate forms of energy and how energy savings can be transferred to consumers, the GIS release states.

“Renewable energy has to be the number one priority of not just the Government, but also the Territory in order to keep pace with the rest of the world that is now actively pursuing these alternative forms of energy,” Minister Vanterpool said, adding, “The corporation and ministry must be in sync on renewable energy issues in order to move forward in the same direction.”

According to GIS, Minister Vanterpool concluded his remarks by encouraging the members to think outside the box as they collectively aim to realise the objectives of the board and reduce electricity cost for consumers.

During the meeting, the minister also reassured the members of his commitment to their work, while giving them a clear understanding of Government’s strategy for infrastructural development.

“The board has done an extremely good job over the years in delivering electricity and I commend you. However, the real responsibility should be to chart the overall direction of the corporation with the broad issues affecting the country. Let us focus on Government’s policy and on providing effective electricity delivery,” Minister Vanterpool said.

Board members include Chairman Allan Parker and members Pearl Smith, Wayne Robinson, John Rhymer, and Oliver Skelton; ex-officio members including general manager of BVIEC and permanent secretary in the Ministry of Communications and Works.

Category/ies:British Virgin Islands.
RSS: RSS 2.0 Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed.

View My Stats