The Co-operative Republic of Guyana and previously known as British Guiana, is the only state of the Commonwealth of Nations on mainland South America. On the northern coast of the continent, it is bordered to the east by Suriname, to the south and southwest by Brazil, to the west by Venezuela, and on the north by the North Atlantic Ocean.

At 215,000 km2, it is the third smallest state on the mainland of South America (after Suriname and French Guiana). Its estimated population is approximately 860,000. It is one of the four non-Spanish-speaking territories on the continent, along with the states of Brazil (Portuguese) and Suriname (Dutch), and the French overseas region of French Guiana (French). Culturally, Guyana associates primarily with the English-speaking Caribbean states, such as Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.

There are many rivers in the country, the three main ones being (west to east) the Essequibo, the Demerara, and the Berbice. There is also the Corentyne along the border with Suriname. At the mouth of the Essequibo are several large islands. The 90-mile (145 km) Shell Beach along the north-west coasts. Guyana is a major breeding area for sea turtles (mainly Leatherbacks) and other wildlife.

The electricity sector in Guyana is dominated by Guyana Power and Light (GPL), a state-owned vertically integrated public utility. Although the country has a large potential for hydroelectric and bagasse-fueled power generation, most of its 226 MW of installed capacity correspond to inefficient thermoelectric diesel-engine driven generators.


To ensure the rational and efficient use of imported petroleum-based energy sources, while encouraging, where economically feasible and environmentally acceptable, increased utilization of indigenous new and renewable sources of energy.

The Energy & Energy Statistics Divsion

This Division’s focus includes the management of the PetroCaribe Agreement along with the continual analysis of petroleum imports, energy database management, energy and economic activities within the energy sector. The Division liaises with the Latin American Energy Information System (SIEE) and the Caribbean Energy Information System (CEIS) on energy-related issues and participates in related projects executed by both Latin America Energy Organization (OLADE) and SIEE.

The functions and responsibilities of this Division, among others, are:

* To prepare and analyze the supply and demand of energy in Guyana;
* To communicate with SIEE and CEIS on energy-related issues and participation in projects being executed by both organizations.
* To supply energy-related information to SIEE and CEIS;
* To facilitate payments for petroleum imports;
* To communicate with the Ministry of Finance to ensure that promissory notes are prepared on a timely basis in keeping with contractual obligations;
* To ensure transmittal of promissory notes to Venezuela upon receipt of same from Ministry of Finance;
* To research the various energy technologies, both locally and internationally;
* To develop a database of renewable energy technologies and disseminate the information as deemed appropriate;
* To develop energy conservation programmes;
* To conduct relevant renewable energy studies in order to compile information and to recommend appropriate project designs;
* To monitor government agencies and private sector renewable energy projects/activities for optimum use, efficiency and cost-effectiveness;
* To actively liaise with various agencies in order to promote renewable energy as a clean technology that will aid in the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions;
* To work in collaboration with other agencies to reduce the effects of climate change and to assist in the development of mitigation and adaptation plans; and
* To develop renewable energy projects and briefs aimed at attracting financing and investors.

CIPORE Focal Point Offices

Horace Williams
Office of the Prime Minister, Guyana
Oranapai Towers, Wight’s Lane Kingston, Georgetown, Guyana
Work: 592-226-6955
Fax:  592-226-7573

Sandra Britton
Guyana Energy Agency
295 Quamina Street, South Cummingsburg, Georgetown, Guyana


Fast Facts

  • Capital: Georgetown
  • Official Languages: English
  • Demonym: Guyanese
  • Government: Semi-presidential republic
  • Independence: 26 May 1966
  • Area: 214,999 km2 /83,000 sq mi
  • Population: 858,863 (est. 2008)
  • Currency: Guyanese dollar

RE Snapshot

  • RE Interests: Hydropower, biomass, solar, wind
  • RE Target: 70-80% by 2012 (hydropower)
  • Utility Company: Guyana Power and Light
  • RE in Grid Supply: No
  • Energy Institutions: Office of the Prime Minister, Guyana Energy Agency, Guyana Natural Resources Authority, The National Energy Committee

Green Energy Calculators

Check out your energy alternatives using our convenient calcluators. Select a calculator from the list provided below.

View My Stats